The punishments for a Colorado DUI mainly depend on how many drunk driving convictions you have faced and the level of alcohol in your system. A Colorado DUI is a misdemeanor offense. A conviction for a first-time Colorado DUI can contain the following:
- A fine of up to $1,000,
- Up to 1 year in jail,
- Revocation of your license for nine months,
- Alcohol education classes, and
- Community service for up to 96 hours
A motorist with a BAC of 0.08% or higher can encounter a DUI per se charge. Regardless, even with a lower BAC or no chemical test results, a motorist can meet charges for DUI or driving while ability impaired (DWAI), based on the police’s observations. The punishments for a DWAI conviction are slightly lower than for a DUI, including:
- Up to 180 days in jail,
- A fine of up to $500,
- 8 points against your license, and
- Community service for up to 48 hours.
Each following DUI conviction will trigger more severe punishments. A second-offense Colorado DUI will entail more rigid penalties than a first offense, and a third-offense Colorado DUI will entail harsher penalties you do not want to face.
Do not go at it alone. Contact a Denver DUI lawyer today to avoid the harsh realities of a DUI charge. To speak with a skilled Denver DUI attorney, contact Baker Law Group today.