Most of the time, if this is your Second Conviction for a Colorado DUI, this will happen:
IF YOUR PRIOR IS WITHIN THE PAST 5 YEARS, then by Colorado law, you must serve a minimum of ten (10) days in jail, and that sentence can be up to one year.
IF YOUR PRIOR IS OVER 5 YEARS OLD: You still have a minimum mandatory jail sentence of ten (10) days, but you are eligible for the Judge to order your jail sentence to be served as an In-Home Detention sentence with an ankle monitor. This sentence can be from ten days up to one year.
Otherwise, for a second conviction, the remainder of the sentence will be something like the following:
- Probation for 24 months.
- Imprisonment of ten days and up to one year in jail
- A fine of up to $1,500.00.
- A Minimum of 48 hours of Useful Public Service up to 120 hours.
- Monitored Sobriety
If you are arrested for a DUI in Denver, contact a Denver DUI lawyer today.