As you might already know, in Colorado, you are prohibited from driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or a combination of both.
- Generally speaking, In Colorado, you are considered “Under the Influence” with a BAC of at least 0.08 or at least 5ng THC (Cannabis).
- However, you can still be charged with DUI or DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) even if your test results are below that.
- Even if you refuse chemical testing of your blood or breath, you may be charged with a DUI if you show signs of impairment.
- In order to be found guilty at trial, the prosecution has to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you are either substantially incapable of safely operating a motor vehicle or that you are impaired “to the slightest degree”.
You can serve 5 days to 1 year in jail for your first DUI offense and receive two-year probation. Additionally, you can receive fines ranging from $600–$1,000, with public service ranging from 48–96 hours.